PCB Heaven

General Category => Analog discussion => Topic started by: SiEger on March 25, 2008, 22:39:22 PM

Title: Stereo output switching
Post by: SiEger on March 25, 2008, 22:39:22 PM
Hello forum adicts!

I am a new member. I would like to ask you a question.
i have a stereo and i want to have a switch to send the output once to one room and once to another. Is this possible with just one switch?

Thank you for your reply

SiEger
Title: Re: Stereo output switching
Post by: kostas on March 26, 2008, 08:11:23 AM
Yes that can be done but the stereo should be off. It is not good while on.
Title: Re: Stereo output switching
Post by: kam on March 27, 2008, 00:10:02 AM
You should use instead some analog switch
Title: Re: Stereo output switching
Post by: tpone on March 27, 2008, 22:31:10 PM
If the amplifier has a mute button, then you can make a circuit to first make it mute, then change the switch and then bring it back alive.
Title: Re: Stereo output switching
Post by: FrED on March 28, 2008, 00:18:25 AM
Why is it so bad? You just cut the line. you do not put power in it
Title: Re: Stereo output switching
Post by: FelIX on March 28, 2008, 01:25:49 AM
If is a small amplifier and you cut it while playing low volume, might not be a big problem. Otherwise, a brutal cut of the output may damage the transistors
Title: Re: Stereo output switching
Post by: SiEger on March 28, 2008, 14:02:29 PM
I want to use something like audio switch. is there something like this?
Title: Re: Stereo output switching
Post by: kam on March 28, 2008, 22:54:22 PM
Search Maxim/Dalas. You will find what you want.
Title: Re: Stereo output switching
Post by: SiEger on April 03, 2008, 23:13:27 PM
I found an audio switch but it was incapable to handle so many watts. Is it so difficult what i ask?  :-\
Title: Re: Stereo output switching
Post by: Erkeli on April 04, 2008, 11:17:48 AM
as you see... it is.
Title: Re: Stereo output switching
Post by: spic0m on April 04, 2008, 15:52:00 PM
A sound console will make your job if you got the money, small ones are not so expensive.
Title: Re: Stereo output switching
Post by: Supernova on April 04, 2008, 18:31:41 PM
But also a sound console i think cannot be connected to the output. I think. I am not sure.
Title: Re: Stereo output switching
Post by: FelIX on April 04, 2008, 20:28:45 PM
The output usually goes directly to the speakers.
Title: Re: Stereo output switching
Post by: kam on April 04, 2008, 22:40:21 PM
imagine trying to switch an output of 200 Watts that comes from a buffered output of 8 Ohms...
Title: Re: Stereo output switching
Post by: Mercury on April 05, 2008, 13:28:06 PM
Get a speaker selector. Can do 6-8 sets of speakers and have already the buffering for impedance.  You can do more things with it than just switching. And most of all, the amplifier is not in danger.