Home     Contact     Forum     Projects     Experiments     Circuits     Theory     BLOG     PIC Tutorials     Time for Science     RSS     Terms of services     Privacy policy  

Home     Forum     Projects     Experiments     Circuits     Theory     BLOG     PIC Tutorials     Time for Science   

Author Topic: LED PWM Dimmer with LM555 - Question  (Read 3574 times)

modaristis

LED PWM Dimmer with LM555 - Question
« on: December 08, 2010, 23:23:14 PM »
Hey guys,
I'm new to electronics and i'm trying to learn some things. I have studied a lot from online resources and i came across this site. I studied most of the wiki pages and i had many of my questions answered. However i dont understand much of the information (located here) about the LM555 IC. In fact, in this project i cannot understand why the led does not flash because of the 555, which produces pulses. As i think, the 555 produces pulses for example a series of 0 and 1 which control whether current go through led or not. Please correct me if i do a mistake.
Furthermore i would like somenone to explain me the general use of a transistor and what the base, the emitter and the collector do in general.
Thnx,
Modaristis

(I would be grateful if anyone could explain this to me in Greek, because i dont understand that much of English :/ )

modaristis

Re: LED PWM Dimmer with LM555 - Question
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2010, 00:37:24 AM »
I had an idea. Why do we have to use the 555?
Could we use just a potentiometer, a led and power supply to achive the dimmer effect for the led?
I though that the potentiometer is a variable resistor, so if we keep a resistance value above a certain lvl (to not destroy the led) and we gradually increase the resistance value we can achive the LED dimmer effect...

kam

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2010, 08:04:46 AM »
hi modaristis.
As i think, the 555 produces pulses for example a series of 0 and 1
You are absolutely correct