Home     Contact     Forum     Projects     Experiments     Circuits     Theory     BLOG     PIC Tutorials     Time for Science     RSS     Terms of services     Privacy policy  

Home     Forum     Projects     Experiments     Circuits     Theory     BLOG     PIC Tutorials     Time for Science   

Author Topic: Analog (0-10v) to PWM pump control  (Read 16926 times)

ismanu4u2

Analog (0-10v) to PWM pump control
« on: May 21, 2011, 05:17:45 AM »
So I am a saltwater aquarium hobbyist with a little electronics knowledge and I was looking to use my crestron home automation system to control my tank. Well I found a DIY project for controlling these pumps See Image but I wanted to control it with 0-10v from my system. so I started looking and found your voltage controlled ac dimmer and it looked like it would do what I needed with some minor changes see Image of my changes It is exacly the same side for after T3.

You can find info on what the original circuit was doing Here http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1411393&highlight=diy+wavebox

Any info will be appreciated

Thank you
« Last Edit: May 23, 2011, 16:42:07 PM by ismanu4u2 »

_pike

• Administrator
Re: Analog (0-10v) to PWM pump control
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2011, 11:52:22 AM »
The link you posted is not working (at least right now).Please give more info about what you are going to do with your tank.You want to control the pumps to do what?What is their operation voltage and so on.....

ismanu4u2

« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2011, 20:14:00 PM »
I tried the link without being logged into the forum and it worked maybe they were working on it or something.

Anyhow the pumps are used in the thank to create waves, The pumps get put in a box and the turn on and off at the right frequency to create a wave in  the tank.  I don't have one of the pumps yet but from the reading I have done the voltage for the control of the pump is 8VDC.