Home     Contact     Forum     Projects     Experiments     Circuits     Theory     BLOG     PIC Tutorials     Time for Science     RSS     Terms of services     Privacy policy  

Home     Forum     Projects     Experiments     Circuits     Theory     BLOG     PIC Tutorials     Time for Science   

Author Topic: Adjustable SMPS power supply as fan controller  (Read 3874 times)

STaRGaZeR

Adjustable SMPS power supply as fan controller
« on: August 12, 2011, 02:49:41 AM »
Hi there! Just found the site after seeing the some youtube videos of PWM controllers. I'd like to build one myself, but I need some help since I'm more or less a complete noob at this, I only know about ultra basic stuff from college, so please be gentle!  ;D

My first idea was to build a simple manual PWM controller to drive the fans. Linear regulators are simple and easy, but I can't stand the heat in the transistor when I slow down the fans. PWM has a much better efficiency, and that's the goal here. Then I heard about all this stuff of 3-pin fans creating all sorts of problems with PWM, so I decided to do a mix of the two: build a PWM generator using the 555 IC, then use a simple buck converter to convert the PWM signal to a stable constant voltage output (basically an adjustable SMPS power supply!). This should have very good efficiency while not having any of the PWM issues.

The circuit I built is as follows. Done in PSpice student:

- The POT is a 100k one.
- Since I didn't know what MOSFET to put as switch, or how to configure it, I just put a voltage controlled switch in there, should be the same as the real MOSFET.
- This is a 1 channel design, the final one will have more, once the first is done the rest is easy. Each channel has to support at least 1A.
- I simulated a 1A output with a 12 Ohm resistor.

Now the tricky parts, I need help from the experts: