Home     Contact     Forum     Projects     Experiments     Circuits     Theory     BLOG     PIC Tutorials     Time for Science     RSS     Terms of services     Privacy policy  

Home     Forum     Projects     Experiments     Circuits     Theory     BLOG     PIC Tutorials     Time for Science   

Author Topic: Getting started on my first project  (Read 1917 times)

v8n3t

• Cadet
Getting started on my first project
« on: January 02, 2014, 06:58:31 AM »
Hello everyone,
I wanted to first start by mentioning that I have zero experience working with anything related to Electrical Engineering.

My main goal is to:
1.)   Learn how to design Circuits on a PCB
2.)   Learn how to upload the Assembly code to a Microcontroller
3.)   Learn how to put it all together

With my goals mentioned, I have no real clue where to start. The first project I want to do will be to re-produce the single-click / double-click functionality with only 2 LED?s. I am a Software Developer full time, so I am not concerned with picking up Assembly. If you are wondering why I want to learn about PCB design and the Electrical Engineer aspect of this, well it?s because I am simply a nerd who enjoys learning.

It would also be nice if anyone could include sources for where to purchase empty/template PCB?s which are designed to experiment with for learning purposes.

Any input on my starting point would be much appreciated. 

_pike

• Administrator
Re: Getting started on my first project
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2014, 11:52:08 AM »
Hello v8n3t and welcome to the forum.....

Well for designing PCB's you will need a programm like eagle.(I use 5.11v)
There are some more but the most widely spreaded is eagle.It has libraries with components and you can also create one if a component is not listed.

For programming a microcontroller( if you are planning to play with microchip which has the PIC mcu) you can find a good tutorial written by Kam here --> http://www.pcbheaven.com/picpages/