Home     Contact     Forum     Projects     Experiments     Circuits     Theory     BLOG     PIC Tutorials     Time for Science     RSS     Terms of services     Privacy policy  

Home     Forum     Projects     Experiments     Circuits     Theory     BLOG     PIC Tutorials     Time for Science   

Author Topic: Comparing PWM LED dimmers  (Read 3220 times)

Jungle-Jim

Comparing PWM LED dimmers
« on: December 01, 2014, 03:01:15 AM »
Hi all
I am a newbie, this is my first post - hello to everyone.

I am working on some small LED circuits for using in scale models, and found the PWM LED dimmer on this site very useful (http://www.pcbheaven.com/circuitpages/LED_PWM_Dimmer)- so thanks Giorgos for that.

The circuits I have are using a 9v DC battery, and the LEDs are pairs in series with a 100 Ohm resistor in series. I have two PWM dimmer circuits coming off the battery, each with 10 LEDs. Your controller works well.

However, I recently received in the post a PWM LED controller I found on Amazon, very cheap (?2 incl P&P in UK -
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B008TNH68E?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00#productDetails ) It was spec-ed at 12v-24v. It seems to work with 9v, but not 4.5v.

It has some extra components - as well as a 555 timer, it has a LM358 op-amp, a D472 FET, and a 78L05 (5v voltage regulator).  I have attached a photo - you can see the circuit and components from it.

According to an Amazon reviewer who seems to have done some technical research on this unit, it is modulated to 1khz, and draws 7.65mA when 'off'.

My question is - what is roughly the difference between your PWM dimmer and this one?
* And is it that the Amazon one has a higher (though un-needed) capacity? (It's rated at 96watts).
* What frequency is yours modulate to?
* How might the two PWMs compare in 'efficiency'?
* The Amazon one says 12v-24v, but yet it works with 9v. Is there anything wrong with using it at 9v - will it breakdown because of this?