Home     Contact     Forum     Projects     Experiments     Circuits     Theory     BLOG     PIC Tutorials     Time for Science     RSS     Terms of services     Privacy policy  

Home     Forum     Projects     Experiments     Circuits     Theory     BLOG     PIC Tutorials     Time for Science   

Author Topic: Motors  (Read 6312 times)

spic0m

• Global Moderator
Motors
« on: March 10, 2008, 02:52:25 AM »
Hi everyone!
I'm using Dr. Calculus a for some time and its been very helpfull, also the whole site is very good, congrats!
I'm not that experienced with electronics and staff but i'm willing to learn.  ???  ???  ???
I have a question that might be off topic but i will ask it  :), also i think it'll be a good idea if the site expands its field of interest and subjects.
To the question ....
I have a 3 phase motor and i want to know if the coils are burned or damaged in any way, whats the measurments i should take to find out??? Is that mesurments apllies also to dc and servo motors???
If you think i'm out of topic of the site just erase this.  :)

kam

• Administrator
Re: Motors
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2008, 09:02:05 AM »
If you think i'm out of topic of the site just erase this.  :)
It is not really you out of the topic. It is us that we have run out of topics  :) :) :)

Actually we should have a MOTORS topic somewhere. It will be done.

Well, a 3 phase motor has 3 coils. Thus, 3 coils means 6 connections. I think you have met before these 6 pairs of connections. They are called RST from the input side and UVW from the output.
Each coil uses 2 of these pins, so coil 1 has R and U, coil 2 has S and V and coil 3 has T and W.

1] To check first that there is no circuit break, you must measure the resistants to the coils and you must find approximately the same resistant. For example you must find 4 Ohms between R-U and S-V and T-W.