Home     Contact     Forum     Projects     Experiments     Circuits     Theory     BLOG     PIC Tutorials     Time for Science     RSS     Terms of services     Privacy policy  
   
 Home     Forum     Projects     Experiments     Circuits     Theory     BLOG     PIC Tutorials     Time for Science   

Author Topic: Stereo output switching  (Read 6862 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SiEger

  • Guest
Stereo output switching
« on: March 25, 2008, 22:39:22 PM »
Hello forum adicts!

I am a new member. I would like to ask you a question.
i have a stereo and i want to have a switch to send the output once to one room and once to another. Is this possible with just one switch?

Thank you for your reply

SiEger

kostas

  • Guest
Re: Stereo output switching
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2008, 08:11:23 AM »
Yes that can be done but the stereo should be off. It is not good while on.

kam

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1849
Re: Stereo output switching
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2008, 00:10:02 AM »
You should use instead some analog switch

tpone

  • Guest
Re: Stereo output switching
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2008, 22:31:10 PM »
If the amplifier has a mute button, then you can make a circuit to first make it mute, then change the switch and then bring it back alive.

FrED

  • Guest
Re: Stereo output switching
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2008, 00:18:25 AM »
Why is it so bad? You just cut the line. you do not put power in it

FelIX

  • Guest
Re: Stereo output switching
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2008, 01:25:49 AM »
If is a small amplifier and you cut it while playing low volume, might not be a big problem. Otherwise, a brutal cut of the output may damage the transistors

SiEger

  • Guest
Re: Stereo output switching
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2008, 14:02:29 PM »
I want to use something like audio switch. is there something like this?

kam

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1849
Re: Stereo output switching
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2008, 22:54:22 PM »
Search Maxim/Dalas. You will find what you want.

SiEger

  • Guest
Re: Stereo output switching
« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2008, 23:13:27 PM »
I found an audio switch but it was incapable to handle so many watts. Is it so difficult what i ask?  :-\

Erkeli

  • Guest
Re: Stereo output switching
« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2008, 11:17:48 AM »
as you see... it is.

spic0m

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 841
Re: Stereo output switching
« Reply #10 on: April 04, 2008, 15:52:00 PM »
A sound console will make your job if you got the money, small ones are not so expensive.

Supernova

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
Re: Stereo output switching
« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2008, 18:31:41 PM »
But also a sound console i think cannot be connected to the output. I think. I am not sure.

FelIX

  • Guest
Re: Stereo output switching
« Reply #12 on: April 04, 2008, 20:28:45 PM »
The output usually goes directly to the speakers.

kam

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1849
Re: Stereo output switching
« Reply #13 on: April 04, 2008, 22:40:21 PM »
imagine trying to switch an output of 200 Watts that comes from a buffered output of 8 Ohms...

Mercury

  • Guest
Re: Stereo output switching
« Reply #14 on: April 05, 2008, 13:28:06 PM »
Get a speaker selector. Can do 6-8 sets of speakers and have already the buffering for impedance.  You can do more things with it than just switching. And most of all, the amplifier is not in danger.